Someday…maybe…

We have hurled to each other, stones of hurt and daggers of pain. It was an ugly sight, devoid of any compassion. What used to be a sight of love became a ghastly image of bloodshed. No one yielded, it was an endless attack on each other.

Tears of anger and frustration have flown freely. We both knew, we were numb as we scale each other’s patience. The anguish has continuously engulfed us. We have been consumed by the endless lamentation of accusations and painful lies.

In this battle, I know I lost. And I lost you.

To win you back is a farfetched dream. Walls are slowly being built. These are the walls that we built to shield us from pain…again. We have learned and we know too well – in this battle where our hearts became the sole victims, a solace in a cold, stolid fortress is comforting.

We both understood that our cards have been drawn against us. Nothing is as hard as accepting the truth – that we killed each other, brutally and without mercy.

In this battle, I cried blood and you shed blood.

But perhaps, in the most fervent prayer that I can muster – our souls may regain strength. In another life, maybe chances are endless and forgiveness is found. That the battle we have waged is nothing but a scar to remind us of our imperfections but not our inadequacy to love.

Perhaps, again, we will find peace in each other, different from the unforgiving world that we used to share. After all, after the thousand years that may separate us, I know, deep in me, I will hold on to the memories that we used to share. That these memories be my guiding light to search your path and be at peace…with you. Someday…maybe…

Leave a comment